2016 Awards Ceremony

  • 07th October 2016
  • Posted by David_Phefley

After a season of fixed fortunes, the club celebrated the achievements with the Annual Presentations afternoon on Sunday, September 25th.

Stepping away from the more traditional evening event, the Sunday format was hosted by Chris Reid and proved a success with the players, support staff and families that were able to attend.

The main award, the Senior Best and Fairest, C.W.McLeod Trophy, was won by Will Cuningham from Patrick Hayes.

The Best and Fairest for the Premiers was won by Dirk Heinz, from Tom Girdwood.

The prestigious off-field award, the Chris Brown Memorial Trophy for the best clubman was awarded to Jeff Scotland, whilst the Ted McNamara Memorial Award for the best team-man was taken out by Jamie Mugavin.

Tom Girdwood also received the Uni Blues nomination for the Melbourne University Life Membership for 2016.

All in all, it was a great success and a format which we will build on in the future.

The winners were:


C.W.McLeod Trophy (Best & Fairest)                       Will Cuningham

Runner up Best & Fairest                                            Patrick Hayes

Best First Year Player                                                  Connor Lappin

Alan Salter Award (Coach’s Award)                           Angus Nice

Jack Coventry Award (Defensive Player Award)    Marc James

Best in Finals                                                                  Tom Quinn and Dan Batarilo


Best & Fairest                                                                Dirk Heinz

Runner up Best & Fairest                                            Tom Girdwood

Coach’s Award                                                               Charles Fry

Best in Finals                                                                  James Carr


Best & Fairest                                                                Hamish Seller

Runner Up Best and Fairest                                        Chris Pyke

Coach’s Award                                                                Sam Briggs


Frank Henagan Award (Best & Fairest)                   Matthew Blair

Runner-up Best & Fairest                                           Travis Scotland

Coach’s Award                                                               Brett Scotland

Club Awards

Chris Brown Award (Best Clubman)                         Jeff Scotland

Ted McNamara Award (Best Team Player)            Jamie Mugavin

MUFC Life Member Nominee                                    Tom Girdwood